top of page

Collages & Breaking a Creative Dry Spell

Updated: May 16, 2018




For my first blog post, I wanted to talk about something I actually love. I LOVE art (this is not a secret), but more specifically, I LOVE dumb, useless crafts. I used to do them all the time as a kid. I'd make my own paper dolls like some 19th century prairie girl instead of buying toys at Walmart. I once made a purse out of empty Capri Sun pouches. Another time, my dog, Buddy, chewed off the legs of one of my favorite Polly Pockets, so I made her a fully functioning cardboard wheelchair. Arts and crafts was my shit.

I was once a really big Twenty One Pilots fan

I didn't encounter collages until an art class my junior year of high school. I used tiny pieces of magazines and catalogs to make a portrait of Twenty One Pilot's Tyler Joseph, and my love for collages only grew from there. My senior year, I was assigned to do an art project of a unit circle by my pre-calc teacher, so I made an elaborate magazine collage of a sunflower.


So anyway, why am I talking about all this now? I guess after being in school for so long, I'd been feeling really dry and stagnant for a while. I only ever had time to do schoolwork, and work on a little poetry on the side. But it'd been a long time since I could actually sit down for hours and work on some genuine ~ART~.


So I did what any artist suffering from a dry spell would do- I bought a bunch of vintage Nat Geo's and finally finally FINALLY sat down and started creating. It wasn't the greatest art I've ever made nor did it require as much time or effort as other projects of mine, but I'm proud with how these turned out. My eyes hurt from straining and my back is KILLING me but mentally and emotionally I am feeling a LOT better. So here are the lame space collages I made last night!! They're dumb but I like them! I may even use them for some poetry shit? who knows :)


15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page